top of page

Small Talk

It was my "favorite" part of church where you have to make small talk for 2-5 minutes with the people sitting around you. The announcer had suggested we ask each other "what is your go to hot beverage." Thankful I had at least one sentence to utter I turned to my right and shook hands with Matt. He informed me of his love affair with chai tea lattes. I volunteered that my day starts with a good old cup o' joe. Thinking this must be the end of our conversation I began to relax and slowly turn away and smile. He then bombarded me with "oh, but what's your favorite roastery?" My eyes widened, my cheeks blushed, and I tried my best to think of any kind of roastery I had encountered. I said, "Milstead" in hopes that it was more than just a coffee shop and he smiled and said, "that's great" to spare my feelings. Then God came to my rescue and it was time to sit down and whisper about my awkward interactions to Brian.

Really only in Seattle do you feel ashamed if you don't have a readily known roastery.

-H

bottom of page