top of page

Writing Space

I have found it to be of great importance to have a writing station designated to myself. While it can be helpful to change it up and write at coffee shops, parks (if you're lucky enough not to live in the puddle that is Seattle), etc., having a place at home where I feel some form of ownership makes me feel like a real writer. I also find a level of relief that I can turn your back to everything else that is going on in my home (dishes in the sink I've ignored for 3 days now, a sock lingering from yesterday, recycling I need to take out). Is it a small thing, but I find there are a plethora of small things that are important in life.

My working area is a pinch of space, right between a coat rack and a couch, but it's lovely and cozy. And decorating took months so I feel particularly proud of how it turned out.

-H

bottom of page