top of page

Combating Writer's Block

The infamous writer's block; famed to perplex the likes of the well know author to the high school student just trying to finish their project; the result of the muses leaving one without so much as a Dear John letter. It's as if all creativity has left and you can only make sentences like "see Jill go. Watch Jill sit." and so forth.

Once in a blue moon I can pretend it's no longer there and fake it till I make it by just writing anything that comes to mind even if I know it's insipid or lackluster. You come back the next day to be presently surprised that you've still got it! Another trick up my sleeve is writing down a few different scenarios for where I want my story to go. The great thing about this is you can glean from each scenario and mix it up for the master scenario which will rule the world!

This time, however, I've had to combat writer's block with several techniques. Not only did I employ the two scenarios above, but I also had to (poorly) draw a map of where my tale takes place. Perhaps it's because I grew up reading the likes of C.S. Lewis and Tolkien and their detailed landscapes made me feel like a map was necessary. In contrast my map looks like it was drawn by an eight year old, but it was helpful with timeline and visualizing this story book world.

​​

I am also meeting up with one of my friends who has more creative juices in her pinky finger than I do in my whole right arm. Collaboration naaaaation! Hopefully this combined effort will give me enough steam to push to the finish line!

-H

bottom of page