top of page

Character Development

I am currently writing a short story about knights, woodland creatures, maidens, and witches--you know, the standard of many a fairytale. I'm beginning to realize you need a plan of attack, which is quite out of the ordinary for someone like myself who has rarely employed any kind of strategy in living out my life. Strategy games? No thanks! Having a detailed 5 year plan? Yikes!

So far I've been letting characters enter in as they may as the story progresses, but I've come to realize those little buggers can start taking over your story! Instead of getting the knights to the forest for their quest they've begun to take me off on a rabbit trail. No on needs to know that Raulphio is terrified of his mother (who doesn't even come into this story) because she let him stay in the stocks all day instead of bailing him out or that Chaddius The Tough's favorite color is orange. And does anyone really need to know Moose the horse's current love interest?

The characters are completely taking over and not going where I want them--is this what it is like to have children? I've started to reign them in a little with some outlines and applied a bit of dusty knowledge of basic writing skills (like your basic story arc). It's now occurring to me that it has been quite awhile since I last took a writing class. How dense have I become?? Well, at least now I have practical knowledge. Like how to jump a car, make milkshakes, and smile and nod at work instead of rolling my eyes.

what are writing notes without a coffee stain?

I must say, that smile and nod one has come in quite handy.

-H

bottom of page